Out 23rd February!


The seventeen-track opus will be released on Friday, February 23 Alongside a Continuous Mix from Elif.

Rapidly garnering a reputation as one of the most exciting, forward-thinking labels on the international circuit, Barcelona-based electronic music house Marginalia has become a shining beacon for raw, cutting-edge dance music since its inception back in September 2023. Providing an all-encompassing platform for some of the most talented up-and-coming producers in the game to showcase their unbridled creative freedom and flawless production credentials, the budding young imprint has built a vibrant and dynamic catalogue in the first six months of its existence, with a clear artistic vision and ethos running through all facets of its output.

Riding a wave of early acclaim following a string of hard-hitting EP releases from the likes of Elif, MANTi, RADON, Bakayan & Groove Shack and Jaffer – and with further collaborations and remixes from the likes of Althoff, Takiru, Ditian, Auggië, Sascha Cawa and Accent to boot – Marginalia now looks to welcome more bubbling top-tier talent to the label with the announcement of its first ever VA compilation, ‘Bestiary Vol. 1’.

Due for worldwide release on Friday, February 23, Marginalia’s ‘Bestiary Vol. 1’ VA features a total of seventeen unique productions from a selection of artists whose immaculate productions have become a mainstay in Elif’s DJ sets over the past twelve months. A term dating back to the Middle Ages – roughly translating to ‘an encyclopaedia of beasts’ – the first instalment of ‘Bestiary’ will also be accompanied by a continuous mix of all tracks from Elif, as she welcomes an array of Marginalia mainstays and debuting talent to the label for an epic compendium of discerning dancefloor cuts.

Joining returning artists Althoff, Jaffer and MANTi, are an incredible fifteen debutant acts – Ayan, Esin, Evade, I Promised Mom, Juan Gioffre, Mumboi, Mrqz, Rebrn, Sam Farsio, Samet Gunal, Sebastian Duarte, Snirco, Tenvin, Tito Azevedo and VALON & LERM – all of whom bring their own unique contributions to the first chapter of Marginalia’s ‘Bestiary’ VA series; a package which showcases some of the very finest interpretations of underground house and techno on the label to date.

Speaking about the upcoming VA, Elif commented:

“One of the main reasons I launched Marginalia last year, was to shine a light on some of the incredible under-championed talent whose productions form such an integral part of my performances all over the world. Without them, there is no party. It’s as simple as that. I’m very proud of what we’ve done with Marginalia over the past few months and this new VA series gives us an opportunity to showcase even more artists than we’re able to do through our solo artist releases. The ‘Bestiary’ series feels like a natural progression for the label and I can’t wait to share this first instalment with the world”.

The odyssey opens with Brasilian artist and Marginalia favourite Althoff, who implements his signature tribal-infused, progressive house sentiments on ‘Electric Shivers’. Next, VALON & LERM team up on ‘Fortune Teller’, presenting a heady slice of melodic techno that’s brimming with synth escapades, before Sam Farsio serves up an aural escape to everyday life on ‘Playroom’, curating a peak-time worthy opus through organic textures and rich bass lines.

Taking a more minimal approach, Innervisions’ Samet Gunal’s meditative ‘Metallisch’ appeals to those with a raw and refined palette, which is succeeded by Sebastian Duarte’s ‘Napadaj’; an unequivocally cool number that plays with haunting melodic sequences and kaleidoscopic vocal chops. Next up is Buenos Aries-based Juan Gioffre, who comes through with chunky percussion and subtle melodic detailing on his ‘Sea Wolf’ contribution.

Welcoming another new artist to the fold, French producer I Promised Mom provides a moody, disco-tinged workout with ‘After Hours’. Conducive to its name, the cut breeds trippy rhythmic and melodic changes that make it the perfect late-night offering. Long-term collaborators Mrqz and Tito Azevedo stay true to their roots with industrial synth patterns and choppy vocal stabs on ‘Unconscious’, while ‘Deimos’ showcases Evade’s impressive knack for intoxicating melodies and hefty breakbeat rhythms.

Halfway in and Snirco follows up with his chugging vocal cut ‘Partya’. An advocate for psychedelic sounds and psy-trance sensibilities, the Israeli producer brings a truly unique groove to the compilation. Moving into more high-tempo waters, another Innervisions artist, Esin, shines as she provides us with a bright and uplifting listening experience on ‘Don’t You Want My Love’; a track that’s bred for the dancefloor.

Next up is Elif, who links with Israeli producer REBRN for ‘Your Body’. Laced with acid synth work and deep vocal drops, the cut is a euphoric hit that embodies the ethos and tonality of Marginalia’s impeccable output.

Hailing from Mumbai, Mumboi thrives on the weird and wonderful. His ‘Robo Call’ cut celebrates distortion and experimentalism in all of its unpredictable glory, challenging the traditional flow and format of melodies. The contrast is palpable next to MANTi’s ‘Negative Perceptions’ as she opts for gritty, industrial timbres and rigid percussion.

Fresh off the back of his ‘Near & Far’ EP, which dropped on Marginalia at the end of January, Jaffer’s ‘Blindfold’ is more leftfield in spirit, championing a playful concoction of synths that dance between one another in staccato motions. The anthology’s penultimate record comes from Indian-based artist Ayan, who deftly plays with hypnotic leads and bouncy percussion to create a transcendental experience on ‘Chimes’, before Miami-based talent Tenvin rounds out a remarkable debut VA on Marginalia with his pensive cut, ‘Innuendo’.

1) Althoff – Electric Shivers
2) VALON & LERM – Fortune Teller
3) Sam Farsio – Playroom
4) Samet Gunal – Metallisch
5) Sebastian Duarte – Napadaj
6) Juan Gioffre – Sea Wolf
7) I Promised Mom – After Hours
8) Mrqz, Tito Azevedo – Unconscious
9) Evade – Deimos
10) Snirco – Partya
11) Esin – Don’t You Want My Love
12) REBRN & Elif – Your Body
13) Mumboi – Robo Call
14) MANTi – Negative Perceptions
15) Jaffer – Blindfold
16) Ayan – Chimes
17) Tenvin – Innuendo