Moving on with DHA’s mix series, we have a Swede who needs no introduction. Since being declared a ‘Future Star of 2013’ by BBC Radio 1’s key dance gatekeeper, Pete Tong, Jonas Rathsman has gone on to exceed all expectations with a string of first class releases, remixes and an undoubted ability to work a dancefloor.  

Gothenburg, Sweden may not be the first place you think of when talking about musical hotspots of the world. Yet this town is home to Jonas Rathsman (and also DJ NIBC for example). After carefully building up his underground reputation in G-burg, Jonas Rathsman took the world by storm in 2011 with his first releases on the French Express label. Tunes like Bringing You DownSince I Don’t Have You and Tobago have made Jonas one of the most followed Swedish dj/producers around. His skills haven’t gone unnoticed as the man has been touring all over the world. Jonas Rathsman, together with fellow French Express hero Perseus, even did a mix for Pete Tong‘s Essential Mix series on BBC’s Radio 1, an honour only given to the top dj’s of the world.

In July 2014, Pete Tong reaffirmed Rathsman as a ‘Future Star’. The feature would lead to further support on BBC Radio 1 with a ‘Headline Mix’ for Skream soon to follow. With worldwide touring rapidly increasing, so was his fan base with tours across Europe, North America and Australia, supporting the likes of Disclosure, Duke Dumont and Gorgon City.

Rathsmans’ year would ultimately be defined by one record – a remix for Brit Award nominee Sam Smith. His remix of ‘Like I Can’ caught the attention of Annie Mac, who instantly premiered it on her Friday night show. The following week, it was selected as Pete Tong’s ‘Essential New Tune’ and continued to grow in the Radio 1 Dance Chart where is crowned #1 on Danny Howard’s ‘Dance Anthems’ show.

Not only is Jonas active in the music scene, he is also running his own collective and fashion label Uniforms for the Dedicated. Having all these projects doesn’t seem to slow the man down even the slightest bit.

For his DHA mix, Jonas Rathsman provides us with breezy soundscapes, with synths and pads that perfectly fit the mood of the season. An emotional hour packed with goodies from Herbert, Acumen, Nikols, Vince Watson and others. The full tracklist can be found at the bottom of the post.

Press play and enjoy the sounds brought to you by Jonas Rathsman!


Artist Page   Soundcloud


1. Herbert – Her Face
2. Paul White – Where You Gonna Go
3. Idealist – Bad Times
4. Mr Beatnick – Marshmallows
5. Round – Float
6. Abstraxion – Never Thought
7. Acumen – Between The Lines (Matthias Meyer Remix)
8. Max Cooper – Woven Ancestry (Lusine Remix)
9. Throwing Snow – As You Fall VIP (feat. Py)
10. Kiasmos – Burnt
11. Hundreds – Please Rewind (The/Das Remix)
12. Nikols – Berlin
13. Dark Sky – Odyssey
14. S.K.A.M – Almost Human
15. Alex Under – Gravitacion Con Vistas
16. Vince Watson – Illusion (Wink Re-Think)

About The Author

Hailing from Helsinki, Finland, Axel is a music writer, a DJ, and a radio host. Since stepping on the 1’s and 2’s in 2008 it’s been one helluva ride for this house music lover. Gathering full momentum in the Finnish scene with his SMOOD duo, this northern dweller packed his bags and re-located in A’dam in 2014. Axel is known for a wide spanning view on everything with a 4/4 beat. His Dj-sets have been heard both in clubs and on the semi-national radio station Basso in FIN. With interests on both the current state of dance music as well as where it all came from, it was only natural for him to jump on the DHA bandwagon. Axel has a knack for discussing everything house, but also enjoys letting the music speak for itself. His writings are known to be as provocative as the cheeky house tunes that he plays whenever given the chance.

Facebook Comment

Related Posts