#177 in our mix series sees a remarkable talent and contributor of, among others, Hivern Discs, Permanent Vacation and has been granted remix duties from such names as the XX, Mano Le Tough. Presenting: New Jackson.

After rounding off 2014 with the bustling Balearica of ‘Having A Coke With You’ on Permanent Vacation, Dubliner New Jackson took a brief break from album recording to return to hometown label Major Problems with the ‘Metroflex’ 12”. The three-tracker included a remix from US techno auteur Hieroglyphic Being. The 12” was followed by a collaboration with Fort Romeau, ‘Not A Word’, which featured on the UK producer’s album on Ghostly.

It follows a series of well-received releases and remixes for labels and acts including Hivern, Permanent Vacaction, Apartment, the xx and Mano Le Tough. He is due to release his debut album in early 2016.

Live, New Jackson cranks up the machines: vintage drum modules, trusted synths, a dusty Russian vocoder and an MPC heart. Highlights from 2015 include shows in Panorama Bar, Berlin; Milan; Barcelona; Lithuania and a flurry of shows in his native Ireland: a Body and Soul headliner; a Maeve party and a RBMA slot at Electric Picnic.


Artist Page  SoundCloud