The annual gathering of house and techno enthusiasts that is Welcome to the Future returns to the beautiful Het Twiske, Amsterdam on 25 July 2015 with another celebration of music, love, and art bringing together creative minds across a spectrum of artistic disciplines.  As many veterans of the festival know, it is one that proudly stands for intimacy, a forward thinking musical vision, great sound and a big green heart.

The overwhelming beauty of the Het Twiske grounds is one that makes patrons, as well as festival organizers, fall in love with the space year after year. This is why, and we must admit we are happy to say that Welcome to the Future is the only Netherlands-based festival awarded the ‘Greener Festival Award of Excellence’ by the independent international organization ‘A Greener Festival Award’.  Welcome to the Future’s commitment to the environment presents itself in a variety of ways on-site, such as a biodiesel exclusive festival power grid, free water, roving “Green Teams,” biogical and organic food selections, as well as being a member of the 10,000 hour project for environmental sustainability.

Across seven stages spanning house to techno, Amsterdam to International, and everything in between, this year’s stacked line-up includes the likes of Art Department, Cari Lekebusch, Andhim, Detroit Swindle, Alex Niggemann, Awanto3, and many more.  At Welcome to the Future, not only do some of the world’s top artists of underground dance music share the stages with the hottest local and international talent around but there is also much to discover away from the dance floor: Keep your eyes peeled for fun creative challenges, forest hideouts, art installations and chill out areas throughout.

Handling the festival’s main stage will be Canadian house heavyweights Art Department, joined by Amsterdam favorite Boris Werner, Knee Deep in Sound’s head honcho Hot Since 82, New York City house prodigies The Martinez Brothers, relentless tech-house duo Pan-Pot, and the always entertaining (and undeniably talented) Seth Troxler.

The Welcome to the Future techno stage features the likes of Swedish techno veteran Cari Lekebusch, who will be performing a very special set alongside multi talented musician/vocalist Zoe Xenia, joining Cari will be the CLR boss and techno icon Chris Liebing, Berghain representative Len Faki, Mindshake records boss Paco Osuna, as well as a live set from Paul Ritch, and Amsterdam favorites Maarten Mittendorff & Jasper Wolff, and London’s Shifted & Sigha.

Representing the housier side of the spectrum will be Amsterdam’s Alex Salvador & Daan Groeneveld, with Detroit’s own Anonym, the prolific De Sluwe Vos, as well as the original house gangster DJ Sneak, the always entertaining Green Velvet, and the on-and-only Amsterdam favorite Tom Trago.

Under the big top, the Circus space features Berlin’s super-house duo Andhim, the BEFORE.NOW.AFTER crew (Eelke Kleijn, Olivier Weiter, Arjuna Schiks, Miss Melera), seminal minimal live act Gabriel Ananda, Diynamic deep house master Karmon, the master of the techno kitchen Karotte, and Netherland’s own Aron Friedman and Eric De Man Spaceandtime project.


The Before.Now.After Crew

As you can see, the Netherlands and Amsterdam are (obviously) well represented at Welcome to the Future, but the city’s influence is far from over with the Amsterdam and Studio 80 stages, respectively, hosting a who’s who of the Dutch capital’s finest underground ambassadors.  The likes of Detroit Swindle, and Awanto3 will be joined by Dorine Dorado, Job Jobse, Julien Chaptal (LIVE), Makam, Steve Rachmand, TiNi, Beesmunt Soundsytem, Kid Sublime, Max Abysmal & Philou Louzolo, New Kid in the Forest and Tim Hoeben.

Finally, the soulful sounds of the Welcome to the Future underground Garden will be spearheaded by 8bit and Poker Flat favorite Alex Niggemann, with the promising up-and-comer Bram Fidder, the enigmatic Laura Jones, Amsterdam’s Elias Mazian, and Olaf Stuut, Some Chemistry & Florinsz Janvier, and Tsepo rounding out the bill.

Alex Niggemann

Alex Niggemann

The 2015 edition of Welcome to the Future will not disappoint, but as always, get your tickets fast as the event is sure to sell out with the quickness.  With a pounding Funktion One Soundsystem (something Welcome to the Future has provided its crowds for years), a top-flight lineup, serene performance space, organic food selections, as well as the event’s deep commitment to environmental sustainability, Welcome to the Future is as much an act of preservation, as it is a creative showcase; however, make no mistake, Welcome to the Future is first-and-foremost a PARTY!

Art Department | Boris Werner | Hot Since 82 | The Martinez Brothers | Pan-Pot | Seth Troxler |Cari Lekebusch & Zoe Xenia | Chris Liebing | Len Faki | Maarten Mittendorff & Jasper Wolff | Paco Osuna | Paul Ritch | Shifted & Sigha | Alex Salvador & Daan Groeneveld | Anonym | De Sluwe Vos | DJ Sneak | Green Velvet | Tom Trago | Andhim | BEFORE.NOW.AFTER | Gabriel Ananda | Karmon | Karotte | Spaceandtime | Detroit Swindle | Dorine Dorado | Job Jobse | Julien Chaptal | Makam | Steve Rachmand | tINI | Alex Niggemann | Bram Fidder | Elias Mazian | Laura Jones | Olaf Stuut | Some Chemistry & Florinsz Janvier | Tsepo | Awanto3 | Beesmunt Soundsystem | Kid Sublime | Max Abysmal & Philou Louzolo | New Kid in the Forest | Tim Hoeben |

25 July 2015 | Welcome to the Future | Tickets | Het Twiske |